Oxford Network of Peace Studies

The Oxford Network of Peace Studies (OxPeace) is a multi-disciplinary initiative to promote the study of peace, peacemaking, peacebuilding and peacekeeping at the University of Oxford. The OxPeace Steering Committee comprises scholars and students from a variety of disciplines. It organizes lectures, seminars, short training courses and conferences, alone or jointly with related organizations, and has held an annual Conference each May since 2009. OxPeace runs two maillists, one local to Oxford, the other worldwide, which publicize OxPeace events and other related notices. OxPeace is an affiliated programme of the Centre for International Studies in the Department of Politics and International Relations (DPIR).

A Chair in Peace Studies: Oxford as an international hub of learning gathers graduate students from across the globe, many having field experience with NGOs, UN agencies and diplomatic corps and now researching in the areas of conflict resolution, peacemaking, peacekeeping and peacebuilding. The need for posts in Peace Studies has become clear, and OxPeace is taking the lead in the current fundraising project to raise the permanent endowment of £4 million for a professorial Chair in Peace Studies, to be situated in the DPIR.

OxPeace Committee members and advisers include professors Neil MacFarlane, Richard Caplan, John Gledhill, Margaret Macmillan; Lord Alderdice, Dr Annette Idler, Dr Isabella Bunn, and graduate students in DPIR and Development Studies, with Co-conveners Dr Liz Carmichael (Theology and Religion) and  Dr Andy Gosler (Zoology).  

Patrons of OxPeace: Rt Hon Lord Patten of Barnes, Chancellor, University of Oxford;  Daw Aung San Suu Kyi; Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu; José Ramos-Horta; Justin Welby, Archbishop of Canterbury; President Jimmy Carter.

List of site pages